Womyn's music and music by women

Apparently this is a real product, but I think I would do without electronics altogether if I were forced to use something called an “ePad Femme.” to quote the author of the piece (Rebecca Pahle):

I’ve been considering getting a tablet. But I’ve held off. Not because of the price. Not because I don’t really need one. But because I, as a woman, don’t feel comfortable using any of the tablets currently on the market. They’re so scary-looking and not-pink. If only some brave company out there would make a tablet specifically for women so I could finally join the mens in the modern age of computing!

What’s that? You say a company has created a tablet specifically for females? Oh, happy day!

Yes, it exists. And it’s called the ePad Femme. I wish I were joking.

The ePad Femme (oh God, I never want to type that again) comes in pink and is preloaded with cooking, yoga, and grocery shopping apps, because all women like those things, right? But wait, I can hear you thinking. What about babies? Worry not, my be-uterus’ed friends: It comes with a pregnancy app as well.

Pahle goes on to quote the person responsible:

Mani Nair is the Associate Vice President of Marketing for the Eurostar Group, creator of this fine piece of tech. Says Nair:

“The Tablet comes preloaded with applications so you can just turn it on and log in to cooking recipes or yoga. It makes a perfect gadget for a woman who might find difficulties in terms of downloading these applications and it is a quick reference.”

Nair also believes there is “no sexist intent” in the choice of applications, which—really?Really?!

You can’t make this shit up…I wish you could.

Leave a Reply

