Womyn's music and music by women

Worlds of Wonder is mostly a blog dealing with games, gamers and gaming.* Some of the blog is interesting to me, and some of it I just don’t get. However, when Loquacious (one of the blog posters) started a series of posts last week about women, I was totally blown away and I want to share it with as many women as I possibly can.

Her first post was titled The Strip Club and I meant to post about it last week. This quote provides the meat of the post:

There’s a lot of media portrayal of strippers are women as “victims”; ladies totally at the mercy of some thug club owner. Whether performing on stage, offering a close look at her tattoos, giving guys a shot at motorboating, doing a lapdance or anything else, the women working were in total control. Not even a hand touched these women without their permission. They owned their bodies, using them to ultimate advantage in a situation where they were a valued commodity.

Control is what it’s all about- whether in life or in games. In games (and life), the girls get the short end of control way too often, so it’s nice to see at least one area where they’re more in charge. Watching the strippers really gave me food for thought.

I highly recommend this post. It gave me “food for thought” as well.

The second post is titled Watching the World Turn Upside Down

Over the next few weeks, I will be looking at access and control some more, along with the gaming community and how women are viewed and treated. I’ll probably discuss how we got to where we are today, and ask a lot of questions.

Last time, I talked about control and access in regards to women’s sexuality. This time, – let’s talk about women’s rights. I’m specifically looking at the way the world is changing and how control and access is being challenged, especially via religion and politics (at least in the US).

 

 

 

*Tabletop, paper and dice, use your imagination gaming

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

